Receive our Newsletter     |     Login

Support Support
0
HomeProductsAf-gregory-curtis-paris-without-her


Gregory Curtis - Paris Without Her

$0.00 USD

Add a donation:

Description:

Thursday, July 8, 2021
4pm PSt / 5pm MST / 6pm CST / 7pm EST
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

Join us for a conversation with Gregory Curtis, longtime editor of Texas Monthly.  At the age of sixty-six, after thirty-five years of marriage, Greg finds himself a widower after his wife succumbs to a long battle with cancer. Paralyzed by grief, agonized by social interaction, Greg tries to break the spell by returning to the place he had the best and happiest times of his life: Paris. And as he navigates the storied city and contemplates his new future, Greg relives his days there with his wife, piecing together the portrait of a woman, a marriage, parenthood, and his life’s great love through the memories of six unforgettable trips to the City of Light. And, slowly, both in remembering their time together and discovering parts of the city he had never known, Greg starts to find a way forward in the face of his loss. Paris Without Her is as much an ode to Paris as it is to Greg’s wife, doubling almost as a guidebook as he takes readers with him to his classes at the Sorbonne, Arènes de Lutèce, and the Parc Monceau, etc.

Gregory Curtis is the author of The Cave Painters: Probing the Mysteries of the World’s First Artists and Disarmed: The Story of the Venus de Milo. He was editor of Texas Monthly from 1981 until 2000. His work has appeared in The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, Fortune, Time, and Rolling Stone, among other publications. A graduate of Rice University and San Francisco State College, he lives in Austin, Texas.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members, AATF members, and invited guests of the presenter or publicist. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10).