Receive our Newsletter     |     Login

Support Support
0
HomeProductsAf-christian-dior-destiny-the-authorized-biography-nov-9


Christian Dior: Destiny: The Authorized Biography - Nov 9

$0.00 USD

Add a donation:

Description:

Tuesday, November 9, 2021
11am PST / 12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

The Federation welcomes fashion author Marie-France Pochna to talk about her most recent book, Christian Dior: Destiny. The House of Diorʼs official biography reveals the secretive and surprising man who revolutionized fashion, with new insight on his spirituality and relationships and a contemporary perspective on his legacy.

Christian Dior is renowned as the architect of the New Look, the epitome of elegance and beauty. But Dior’s own life, privileged as it began in glittering Belle Époque France, was marked by loss and hardship through the Wall Street Crash and under the Occupation in World War II. From the extremes of both wealth and poverty, and using the talents he had developed amid the bohemian crowd of Paris’s left bank—his eye for fashion, skill as an illustrator, and gift for friendship—Christian Dior emerged, dynamic and more resolute than ever, to found the Maison Dior.

This sensitive biography looks behind the accolades to understand the private Dior—the man who suffered loss but loved deeply, who was quiet in person, yet known for extravagant displays of generosity. He overcame his own challenges to share the unique, beguiling world of his imagination and, in doing so, revolutionized the fashion industry and the way women would dress forever after.

Marie-France Pochna is the recognized authority on Dior. An expert on fashion and trends in the luxury market, she has published biographies on Maison Dior’s founder Marcel Boussac, Gianni Agnelli, and Nina Ricci.

This event will be on Zoom and is free for all Alliance Française members, AATF members, and invited guests of the presenter or publicist. Non-members or persons who have no AF chapter nearby can purchase tickets ($10). A zoom link will be sent to you in advance of the event after registration. Click above to register!